top of page
  • Writer's pictureMade in the West Film Festival

2018 Award Nominees announced!

Still Searchin' Productions is proud to announce the nominees for this year’s individual category awards! Congratulations to all of the 2018 finalists - the judges were very impressed with the quality of this year's line up!

Every film we screen at Made in the West is in the running to win one of two major trophies – the ‘Best in the West’ Award (for independent films) or the ‘Best Student Film’ – awarded to those films that receive the top score overall from our panel of judges.

To make it even more interesting, each year we also ask our judges to nominate the films that demonstrate excellence in the following categories: Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematographer, Best Editor, Best Sound Design, Best Original Score, Best Actress and Best Actor.

Check out our prize packages for details of the amazing loot up for grabs this year! Made in the West 2018 is giving away over $15,000 in prizes to Western Sydney filmmakers, thanks to our wonderful sponsors!

The third and final trophy – our highly coveted ‘Audience Choice Award’ – is voted for by our audience on the night. We'll screen a two-and-a-half-hour marathon of short films and then we'll ask YOU to vote for your favourite film!

And before you can say 'Where’s the after party?', we'll tally them up and announce the winner, sending one lucky finalist home with a glitzy crystal trophy.

Reserve your FREE ticket now and join us on Saturday 24 November at Event Cinemas Liverpool and you will be among the lucky 330 people who will BE THERE when we announce the winners!

So, is the suspense killing you? Well, we won’t keep you waiting any longer!

Made in the West is proud to announce the nominees for the 2018 Made in the West Film Festival:


Afro Sistahs - Hawanatu Bangura

Culture Strong - L-FRESH The LION and Erin Moy

Hunger - Kevin Kim

Melon Grab - Andrew Lee

Milo - David Hoey

Musings - Bina Bhattacharya

Oinked - Brendan O’Connell

Saving Mercury - Ali Kadhim

She’s Not Your Type - Matthew C. Vella

Three Feet Deep - Rachael Belle Myers


Afro Sistahs - Safia Amadou, Rebekah Robertson, Ebube Uba, Barry Gamba, Luna Andom, Chika Ikogwe and Hawanatu Bangura

After Nightfall - Wayne Tunks

Melon Grab - Andrew Lee

Milo - David Hoey

Musings - Bina Bhattacharya

Saving Mercury - Ali Kadhim

She’s Not Your Type - Matthew C. Vella


After Nightfall - Nicholas Price

Culture Strong - Meg White

Melon Grab - Dane Howell

Milo - David Hoey

Saving Mercury - Ali Kadhim

Three Feet Deep - Rah Sharma


Afro Sistahs - Vaana Seang

After Nightfall - Paul Anthony Nelson

Culture Strong - Joey Hunter

Melon Grab - Kaya Inan

Oinked - Brendan O’Connell

Shading - Vonne Patiag

Three Feet Deep - Rachael Belle Myers and Rah Sharma


After Nightfall - Peter ‘PJ’ Johnson

Culture Strong - Joey Hunter

Cut Off - Ryan Cauchi, Me-Lee Hay and David Perry

Melon Grab - Emma Bortignon

Milo - David Hoey


How To Write A Screenplay - Ryan Sørensen and Cy Donkin

Hunger - David Kim

Melon Grab - Rémi Boubal

Milo - Gareth Dunlop

Three Feet Deep - Anisha Thomas


Afro Sistahs - Moreblessing Maturure

Cut Off - Jess Bell

How To Write A Screenplay - Megan Kennedy

Musings - Alessia Medina

Saving Mercury - Olga Miller

She’s Not Your Type - Adrianne Gullotta


Hunger - Peter Maple

Melon Grab - Noah Fuzi

Milo - Nicholas Burton

Three Feet Deep - Craig James

Congratulations to all of the great filmmakers and finalists involved in producing this year's top 14 films and best of luck to all our nominees in their individual prize category awards!

(And for those of you wondering, the after party kicks off as soon as the awards ceremony finishes - roughly 11pm at the Macquarie Hotel. We can't wait to toast to our 2018 winners and celebrate another great year of short films from Western Sydney!)

bottom of page